20nm process to build, Samsung Electronics DDR4 memory mass production stage




The first wave of next-generation enterprise server products will be locked and data center applications, the introduction of high-capacity DDR4 memory.

Semiconductor manufacturers Samsung Electronics announced the start of mass production of DDR4 memory modules, while the primary goal is to aim in 2014 to start the conversion specifications of a new generation servers, data center platform, the owners will be able to require large-scale expansion of server platforms, access DDR4 memory performance, low power consumption characteristics of the benefits.

sddr4 1 665×435 以 20nm 製程打造,Samsung Electronics DDR4 記憶體進入量產階段

Samsung Electronics will be the first to introduce 4Gb memory particles, using 20nm process to build (20nm represents 20 ~ 29nm process are possible, but the current progress in perspective, the company is more likely to use 20nm process mass production) for 16GB, 32GB memory modules used.

The current capacity of the mainstream memory module 8GB, while the process part is 30nm, compared DDR4 memory module is indeed a big breakthrough.

Modules in series after the launch of DDR3 16GB, Samsung Electroncis the second half of 2013 will continue to expand high-end server market, continued to launch a large-capacity memory modules, as 2014 will turn DDR4 platform, and to promote the 32GB in order to enhance their own advantage.

Intel, whether in business or consumer application side of the processor, will be in the second half of 2014 began to import DDR4 specification, as in the past DDR2 transition to DDR3, this change would not be backwards compatible with the situation.

Tags: , , ,

In: Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [18460 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]