Adobe Creative Cloud update includes bug that deletes user data – update

Feb

15

2016

A software bug in the latest version of Adobe Creative Cloud for Mac OS X can cause users to lose some of their data. Namely software automatically removes the content of the first folder in the root directory. Adobe has stopped distributing the update.

The problem came to light when the developers of backup software Backblaze noticed that could no longer find their customer data. The Backblaze data is in fact stored in a root folder called ‘.bzvol. Because the error in Adobe Creative Cloud ensures that the disadvantaged many users of these backup-software is emptied from the first folder in alphabetical order, are. For anyone who has already downloaded the update, Backblaze is directly with a simple solution: create a folder in the root of called .adobedontdeletemybzvol. This works well for users of the backup software for users who do not use Backblaze.

Across from Ars Technica says an Adobe spokesman that the company is aware of the problems and therefore has already stopped distributing the update. It would turn to Creative Cloud version 3.5.0.206, says Backblaze developers. It is highly advisable for users who are already within the first update to create the dummy folder before logging in to the Adobe Creative Cloud.

Adobe Creative Cloud is the cloud version of its Adobe editing programs like Photoshop, Lightroom and Premiere. Users pay a fixed monthly fee and in return receive access to the latest versions of all Editors Adobe on both desktop and mobile platforms. Projects can also be exchanged easily between these platforms. The service has roughly a small million subscribers.
Update, 12:03: The latest version of Adobe Creative Cloud 3.5.1.209 must solve the problem, according to the release notes . The update was released today.

Viewing:-100

In: Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [15197 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »