Alliance of major tech companies working on new video standard




Seven major Internet companies on Tuesday announced the formation of the Alliance for Open Media. The open source project aims to develop a future generation of media formats and codecs for the public domain.

That requires the alliance on their website. The Alliance for Open Media consists entirely of Microsoft, Google, Mozilla, Cisco, Intel, Netflix and Amazon. The goal of the alliance is to develop open standards that can be used on all devices. It comes to video, audio, streaming and other types, computer-generated images. At this moment are still working several members of the group to their own future standards such as Google to VP9 and VP10, Cisco Thor and Mozilla is working on Daala.

The first goal of the alliance is to develop an open video codec which is a marked improvement in H.264 and hevc. The codec must be interoperable, optimized for the Web, scalable to any modern device and for all bandwidths. It should take little of the hardware in the sense of power and for both commercial and non-commercial content can be used.

It remains difficult for companies and institutions to devise standards that do not infringe any patents or other intellectual property of other companies. For example, Google bought the VP8 codec from On2 to create a standard from here. It later emerged that comprise twelve companies had patents which parts of VP8. Although Google reached an agreement, show me again how difficult it is to develop a truly open standard, writes Arstechnica.

This year will be known what the roadmap is and how others can join the alliance. Notable absentee is still Apple.

In: Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [18439 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]