Amazon is developing MySQL-compatible database engine Aurora




Amazon has on its AWS cloud platform relational database engine available that would allow MySQL databases perform better and easier late scales. The engine, called Aurora, is not open source, but compatible with MySQL 5.6.

According to Amazon Aurora can perform up to five times better than standard MySQL implementations that run on its AWS cloud platform, while the database engine remains fully compatible with Oracle’s open source database software. The performance gains are due to virtualized storage based on SSD storage, along with software optimizations in the engine.

Amazon promises that Aurora also gives very reliable database services due to fault-tolerance mechanisms and ‘self-healing’ storage systems. As databases would be available if disk errors. Amazon also claims that a database crash is detected automatically and Aurora within sixty seconds is available again without a recovery procedure needs to be performed if the database cache must be rebuilt. Furthermore, can automatically be switched should crash an entire Aurora-instance to a back-up server. Database Data is replicated within three to six times AWS regions.

An AWS user can activate Aurora through its AWS management console and manage. According to Amazon need a system very few tasks to perform himself. For example, a database of several gigabytes can grow to terabytes without the database must be temporarily removed from the air to make more storage available.

Aurora is not open source, and is currently only for AWS users available in a preview version, in addition to the existing platforms MySQL, PostgreSQL, Oracle and Microsoft SQL Server. Like other AWS cloud services customers pay based on the actual use of the database servers.


In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [20441 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]