AMD confirms delayed-release Kaveri APUs




AMD has put an end to speculation and rumors about the launch of its next generation accellerated processing units. The APUs codenamed Kaveri should initially be on sale in 2013: Now that 2014.

The Kaveri-apu, which socket FM2 + motherboards for AMD’s, the current generation of Richland-apu’s will follow. Initially, according to early roadmaps, Kaveri would actually be out, but the release was delayed until the end of 2013. Earlier this week was any further delay to 2014, but AMD insisted that an introduction would be. Still realized in 2013 That promise seems to be partly revised, reports VR-Zone. Kaveri would admittedly still sent in 2013 to distributors and partners, but sales to end users would only start in 2014.

During Computex was a demonstration of the Kaveri-apu data, which the company indicated that the processor was in June for all delivered to customers. Before the end of the year would be introduced Kaveri monitor and Richland, as promised at the time AMD. Early this year, AMD still spoke of an introduction to “the second half of 2013.” The mobile variants of Kaveri should be something available later in 2014. One reason for the delay did not AMD.

It is with pain on the Kaveri-apu’s been waiting since the processors could deliver. One big performance The APUs have four Steamroller cores and graphics core next-GPUs. Much of the speed gain would be caused by the fully shared memory between CPU and GPU cores: heterogeneous uniform memory access which is part of AMD’s heterogenous system architecture. The APUs are manufactured on 28nm and get a dual channel memory controller and improved power.

Tags: ,

In: Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [18458 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]