AMD demonstrates Wraith silent cooler and makes some Zen-socket




AMD at CES announced its new stock cooler with the name Wraith and let you know that CPUs and APUs based on the Zen architecture will use the same socket. The company also demonstrated the efficiency of new Polaris GPUs.

The Wraith cooler with 80mm fan blades and backlight must be compared to the current stock cooler for AMD FX processors, the AMD D3, distinguished by its quiet operation. The features according to AMD Wraith have a 24 percent greater surface area of ​​the cooling fins, compared to the AMD D3. Furthermore is the cfm value, a measure of the moving air in cubic feet per minute, with 55.78 to 34 percent higher than the 41,6cfm of the predecessor. The noise would come this at 39dBA, less than one tenth that of the predecessor.

AMD Wraith
AMD Wraith
AMD Wraith
AMD Wraith
AMD Wraith

AMD also announced that socket AM4, the socket for future chips based on the Zen architecture, can be used by both the APU as the CPUs. AM4 succeeds as a single socket AM3 +, FM2 and AM1 + on. Both the Zen APUs as the processors are socs and support DDR4. The code name for the Zen CPU’s Summit Ridge and the Zen-APU is Bristal Ridge showed further notice.

AMD Socket Zen AM4
Finally, AMD demonstrated the difference in consumption of the upcoming Polaris GPU compared to the GeForce GTX 950. In Star Wars: Battlefront at 1080p and 60fps, pulled the Polaris system with GPU 86,1W while Nvidia system 161W would consume. Or the difference compared with older cards is actually so great to be seen in practice, as the visiting cards with Polaris GPU.

AMD Wraith
AMD Wraith


In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [20985 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]