Apple is encouraging users to use two-stage authentication




Apple is going with the release of iOS eight actively encourage users to switch to iCloud. Two-factor authentication, a more secure login method, From the login method also works when logging into iCloud from iOS 8.

Apple logo The majority of iCloud users do not have two-factor authentication turned on; hence the company is encouraging users to do so. That happens after nude photos of several celebrities suddenly appeared on the internet last week. They were partly secured by accessing the iCloud accounts of the celebrities. Access via security questions Apple CEO Tim Cook believes that the company could have done to make the danger of hackers, people more conscious says he told The Wall Street Journal.

From iOS eight two-factor authentication works for iCloud accounts on iOS. With two-factor authentication, users must not only enter a password, but also identify themselves in a different way. This can be, for example, by introducing which is generated by a corresponding smartphone app a code.

In addition, Apple is within two weeks of sending emails to users when someone downloads a backup from his or her iCloud account. Apple was criticized for attackers without their noticing victim could download backups.

Cook is in the interview with The Wall Street Journal did not address the criticism that Apple still relies on security questions to gain access to an account when someone has forgotten his password. Answers to these questions are mainly for celebrities trivial to find. Apple is one of the few companies that still relies on the method.

In: Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [18454 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]