Apple is working on a politically correct “emoticons”




Employees of Apple, outside the organization Unicode Consortium, working on the mechanism of creating politically correct “emoticons”, by which it will be possible to change the color of the skin in a number of icons, reports Lookatme. The new standard will be released in 2015.


The mechanism provides for the inclusion in the new standard special Emoji icons representing different shades of skin color. They can be used with other icons depicting human faces, thanks to what they will change color. Total proposed to introduce five possible skin tones. In addition to those color is also proposed to extend to Emoji depicting hands, as well as a standard set of emoticons.

This mechanism is proposed to include a new standard Unicode, which will be released in mid-2015. The proposal comes from Apple and Google, but if accepted, politically correct Emoji will be supported by most platforms.


Emoji in time become the national standard in Japan, where visual culture is important. This word is formed by adding the two nouns – picture (e) and letter (moji). Different variations of “Emoji” offer three largest operators in the country – NTT DoCoMo, au and SofBank Mobile.

Given the size and prospects for the Japanese market, Apple has built into the operating system smilies iPhone and iPad, starting with iOS 5, which was released in October 2011. Emoji also supports Mac OS X platform since version 10.7 (Lion).

Join us on Twitter , VKontakte , Facebook , Google+ or via RSS , to keep abreast of the latest news from the world of Apple, Microsoft and Google.


In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [19029 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]