Apple launched the two-factor authentication for FaceTime and iMessage




Apple has launched a system of two-factor authentication for FaceTime and iMessage. Innovation designed to improve the security of user data using the popular “apple” services.


The first stage of two-factor authentication, the user can connect freely in the settings, is to enter the master password. After that, the person will get on the phone four-digit code, which can confirm the master password.

Thus, Apple creates an additional level of security that protects correspondence, photos, contacts and voice messages in the event of a breach by cybercriminals. At the same time, this function can not protect data if an attacker has access directly to the user’s smartphone or tablet. Previously, the two-step authentication implemented for accounts Apple ID and web interface iCloud.

The issue of strengthening the protection of iCloud actualized in 2012 after a hacker using customer support Apple, gained access to your account Wired journalist Matt Honan. The attacker grabbed account management, and then, using the remote control iPhone and OS X, erased all data from your smartphone, tablet and laptop. The incident resulted in Apple tightened security policy data.

In July last year, Apple launched a system of two-factor authentication for the Web interface iCloud. Later, the service became available in Russia , the UK, Australia, Ireland, New Zealand, Canada, France, Italy and Japan. In addition to the manufacturer’s iPhone and iPad, such systems use for their services Google, Dropbox, «Yandex” Mail, Evernote and others.

Join us at Twitter , VKontakte , Facebook , Google+ or via RSS , to keep abreast of the latest news from the world of Apple, Microsoft and Google.

In: Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [18454 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]