Apple opened the source code of OS X Yosemite




Apple Inc. released the source code of components OS X Yosemite, also known as Darwin 10.10.0. Data can be downloaded from the official website Before loading, the user is obliged to accept the rules of use of the source code, according to the document, it is only possible non-commercial use.


Darwin – heir developed at NeXT operating system, NeXTSTEP, the first version that came out in 1989. After Apple swallowed NeXT in 1997, she announced that she will make its next operating system based OpenSTEP API system NeXTSTEP. This system was developed within the project Rhapsody since 1997 and in 1999 released based on these developments Mac OS X Server 1.0. In 2000, Rhapsody was isolated in Darwin, released as free software under a public license to the source Apple (APSL) and Darwin components are present in Mac OS X today.

Before Darwin 8.0 Apple released the executable version after each major release of Mac OS X, allowing you to install Darwin on computers with PowerPC architecture and Intel x86 as a separate operating system. Minor updates are released in the form of packages that can be installed separately. Currently Darwin is only available in source code, except for the version ARM, which is generally not been released separately from iOS.


On the Apple site lined source codes Darwin 10.10, including the kernel xnu-2782.1.97. Last year in late October, the company opened the source code of OS X Mavericks.

Join us on Twitter , VKontakte , Facebook , Google+ or via RSS , to keep abreast of the latest news from the world of Apple, Microsoft and Google.


In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [20441 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]