Apple stops Back to my Mac

Aug

22

2018

Apple deletes the free Back to my Mac functionality from macOS, the company confirms. The manufacturer redirects users of the function to iCloud Drive, screen sharing and the paid Apple Remote Desktop software.

Back to my Mac Back to my Mac or Back to my Mac is absent from the betas of macOS 10.14 Mojave, the new version of the OS that Apple announced in June. In a support document, Apple confirms that the functionality will no longer be part of its operating system.

The company redirects users from Back to My Mac to iCloud Drive for the functionality of accessing files. Also called screen sharing, which can be used for sharing the screen when owning multiple Mac systems. Furthermore, the company calls Apple Remote Desktop for managing Macs remotely.

Back to my Mac since Mac OS X 10.5 Leopard from 2007 in the OS for Mac systems. The feature enables the management of remote Mac systems and screen sharing, using the Bonjour protocol to discover devices on a network. Since 2011 it is a free part of iCloud.

On 9to5mac and Reddit, among other things , users complain that Apple Remote Desktop is not a good replacement in their eyes, since the software costs 90 euros, has not had an update for a year and a half, and has worked less well.

Viewing:-110

In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [23225 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »