ASRock brings bios updates for overclocking non-K Skylake CPUs from




ASRock has released BIOS updates that make overclocking non-K Skylake CPUs by increasing the base clock possible. As yet there are only bios updates for motherboards with Z170 chipset, including integrated GPU should be disabled.

The Taiwanese manufacturer ASRock provides the function to Skylake CPUs without K suffix to overclock the name SkyOC and announces on its website the required firmware updates. For now, the function is only available on Z170 motherboards manufacturer, but ASRock states that “sooner or later will be more gifts.”

When overclocking the base clock encountered a number of limitations. For example, the integrated GPU of the processor is turned off and also the working ratio and turbo c-state any more. ASRock shows his SkyOC page, where the bios updates are found, an image of an Intel Core i5-6400 whose BCLK 60 percent increase. The speed of 2,7GHz thereby went to 4,3GHz. This high percentage is probably due to the relatively low rate of regular on i5 CPU.

With a Core i3-6100 ASRock gets a smaller profit of 19 percent. However, this standard is dual core clocked at 3,7GHz and 4,4GHz tap with overclocking. With overclocking a Core i7-6700 and Pentium G4400 ASRock took respectively 32 and 36 percent profit. In both cases, good for a clock speed of up to 4,4GHz. From the diagrams to make sure the voltage is set to 1,344v. Details about temperatures or stability of the results are not known.

Probably multiple manufacturers come soon with bios updates that allow overclocking of non-K Skylake CPUs. Anandtech has heard before from Asus and Supermicro given that such updates are in the pipeline.


In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [21000 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]