Asus announces first motherboards for AMD socket FM2 + to




Asus has announced two motherboards that support AMD’s next-Kaveri APUs. The FM2 + socket on the signs is also compatible with the Trinity and Richland-apu’s. Asus installs both the A55 and the new A88X chipset on the motherboard.

AMD A88X The APUs AMD codenamed Kaveri will be the successors of the Richland processors that AMD released in june. AMD demonstrated Kaveri already at the launch of the Richland-apu. The new FM2 + apu becomes available Steamroller cores, a GPU with gcn processors and will also have the heterogenous system architecture. This makes the memory between the CPU and the GPU shared, so that the two processors need to exchange data at high speeds.

The A88X chipset AMD supports up to eight SATA-600 ports and four USB 3.0 ports. It announced by Asus A88XM-A motherboard gets six of the possible eight SATA-600 ports with it. There is also support for PCI Express 3.0, but you must be quite a Kaveri-apu used, the user is bound to PCI Express 2.0 in older APUs. Furthermore, the motherboard has the usual connections for video and audio. Also some obsolete connections are available, including a D-sub connector, two ps/2-poorten and a PCI slot.

The second motherboard that Asus has announced the A55 chipset, which has been around on FM1 socket since the first APUs. This chipset supports up to SATA-300. The appearance of Asus’ A55BM-A/USB3-moederbord largely corresponds to that of its big brother with A88X chipset. The SATA ports are positioned differently and there is support for two instead of four DDR3 modules.

Tags: ,

In: Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [18476 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]