Audi shows self-propelled version of the R8 e-tron with ZFAS-board computer




Audi has a self-propelled draft version of the R8 e-tron shown. The presence of the ZFAS-board computer and numerous sensors, the electric car must be able to drive autonomously. The self-propelled mode is manually by the driver switching on and off.

The concept vehicle is by Audi at CES Asia trade show display . The German automaker has previously presented R8 e-tron taken as a basis and meet various electronics to enable autonomous driving by continuously analyzing the environment. Thus, the electric car equipped with a new laser scanner. Also, there are cameras incorporated in the vehicle, as well as ultrasonic and radar sensors modules at the front and back side of the e-tron R8.

All the information from the sensors is processed by the ZFAS-board computer. ZFAS , which stands for zentrales Fahrer Assistenz Steuergerät, currently has the size of a small laptop, but Audi will further reduce the electronics in the future. Furthermore, the carmaker which ZFAS which hardware from Nvidia is processed, a modular system and thus in the future is to expand with new technology for autonomous driving.

Audi has the R8 e-tron features a 92kWh battery that provides a range of approximately 450km. The two 170kW motors can accelerate the R8 e-tron in 3.9 seconds from 0 to 100km / h. Depending on the tires is to achieve a top speed of 210 to 250km / h.

Although it still is a concept model works Audi, like other manufacturers, hard on a vehicle that can move partially or fully autonomous in traffic. During the CES in January showed an Audi A7 which was mounted a ZFAS system and recently a converted Audi SQ5 managed to a 5500km long drive independently complete .


In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [19137 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]