Blizzard tick rate increases in all game modes Overwatch from 21 to 63 Hertz




Blizzard, the tick rate of all Overwatch game modes increase from 21 to 63 Hertz. This is to ensure that both incoming and outgoing data as multiplayer movements and landed shots are transmitted more quickly, resulting in a game that is faster and more responsive.

Blizzard community manager Lylirra announce the decision to the Overwatch Forum. The function was to try out as a beta in so-called custom games, but is now implemented in all game modes including quick play and competitive play. Although the feature is optional at first, but will eventually be enabled by default in all game modes. The function is now implemented in the Windows version of Overwatch and Blizzard says to investigate whether this is possible for the console versions.

Increased tick rate should cases of “a bull’s eye on my screen, but according to the server yet completely wrong” to go. Tinkering with tick rates is not new. This variable example, was already adjusted in Counter-Strike, the original Mod for Half-Life. Even more modern games like Battlefield 4 offer now features tick rates ranging from 30 to 144 Hertz.

The increased tick rate consumes logically have more bandwidth. Therefore, the frequency will be automatically adjusted downwards if the game fails to notice that the connection of the player. The developer is also considering also adding an option which lets users manually set their tick rate. This may be possible discrepancies between players and servers generate and Blizzard matter further does not enter into detail.


In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [21958 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]