Blue Origin rocket enables controlled landing




A rocket company Blue Origin, the founder of Amazon, Jeff Bezos, has managed to make a controlled landing. This Blue Origin defeats part of the company SpaceX Elon Musk, though there are differences.

Blue Origin launched the New Shepard capsule on a BE-3 launcher in the night of Monday to Tuesday Dutch time. The spacecraft achieved an altitude of 100.5 kilometers, after which the capsule was detached and the declining trend. The capsule down with his parachute, but also the BE launcher was checked down.

To this end were at a height of 1.5 kilometers back to the thrusters, and a soft landing followed with seven kilometers per hour. The rocket would be intact and according to Jeff Bezos, owner of Blue Origin and founder of Amazon, it is neatly stored in a hangar. Bezos called a spent rocket “a rare species.

With the successful landing Blue Origin is the company SpaceX founder Elon Musk of Tesla for. The landing of the Falcon 9 SpaceX failed earlier this year. A previous attempt to land the Grasshopper rocket succeeded well but rocket reached a height of only 744 meters.

As Elon Musk indicates, however there are differences. The Falcon 9 is to 100 kilometers above Mach 10, where the BE-3 does not exceed 3.7 Mach. The result is that the Falcon rocket yet shoot at an altitude of 145 kilometers before the drop is used. According to Musk is Mach 30 to reach the geostationary transfer orbit and is much more energy is needed. To provide the SpaceX rocket must reach the geostationary orbit, the International Space Station.

Letting countries missiles is important for private space agencies: it reduces the cost considerably and the missiles can be used again soon.


In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [20441 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]