Boeing and NASA space transportation capsule create a new generation of





In a special event to be held in Houston Product Support Center, which in the U.S. Texas, NASA and Boeing have submitted the layout of the new space capsule Crew Space Transport (CST-100). The journalists and invited guests the opportunity to see the first test version of the future of the space shuttle, designed to carry five passengers and crew on the International Space Station and back. In total, the final version of the capsule will be able to transport up to seven astronauts.

Design of the new capsule resembles increased in size, command module, “Apollo”, adjusted for use here is the improved thermal protection, and a slightly modified design. NASA says it is possible to reduce the total weight of the capsule and the time of its production. Inside the capsule using the latest technology: LED lighting, touch screens, improved avionics and advanced automatic control system.

“Now the astronauts do not have to look for 1100 or 1600 different switches,” – said Chris Ferguson, director of the Boeing Crew and Mission Operations.

“When the astronauts get into the capsule, their task will not re here to understand how everything works. Their main task will be to prepare for the six-month direct flight to the space station. Therefore, we do not want to burden their endless need training to learn how to manage this space module. Management process should be almost intuitive for them. ”

Back to “E-skin” will make robots more sensitive and walls
Next Wi-Fi drive Seagate Wireless Plus: transformation into a full-fledged NAS
Tags: Boeing , NASA .

Tags: ,

In: Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [18475 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]