British court imposes blockade Popcorn Time-sites




The five largest ISPs in the United Kingdom must block the websites of two Popcorn Time-forks. Also serve access to four “ordinary” streaming sites to be placed by the providers on the blacklist. That has a British court decided.

The ISPs need domains from two forks of Popcorn Time, and, block. In addition, also and be blocked, as well as four web sites that offer content without the underlying bittorrent protocol. The court makes a difference between the Popcorn Time-sites and ‘regular’ sites, and therefore shares the Popcorn Time-sites, or PTA-sites’, otherwise. The PTA sites were an “app offering that facilitates users broad access to material that is copyrighted. The judge set Popcorn Time serves no legitimate purpose. Also, no one used Popcorn Time to watch ‘lawful content available, “says the judge. The makers of Popcorn Time are indifferent to their rightful position.

None of the ISPs has so far objected to the requirement of the court, so it will only be a matter of time before the sites not be immediately available in the UK. That the blockades in practice have little sense, nobody will be surprised: when a blockade on torrent sites like Kickass Torrents and EZTV imposed by the British courts, there were plenty of other websites within a short time and proxies available.

The lawsuit was filed by the Motion Picture Association of America and six major media companies. The document from the court concludes that Popcorn Time is an application without legitimate justification. In the Netherlands is trying to achieve the same foundation Brein, although it should still be waiting for it on the advice of the Attorney General. This opinion is now expected at the end of May.


In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [19070 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]