British ISPs will warn illegal downloaders




A number of major UK ISPs will from next year e-mails and letters sent to customers who download illegally. The tone of the warnings, however, will be considerably less than what would certainly societies.

The BBC reports that BT, Sky, TalkTalk and Virgin Media from 2015 to warn their customers when illegal content is downloaded. away from their IP address The ‘alerts’ would be educational in tone and customers need to point out legal alternatives. According to the agreements with the British music and film industry a customer will be able to get up to four warnings, that of becoming a ‘compelling’ show will be. It should be possible legal action. However threatened

The IP addresses of illegal downloaders may be handed over, and give the customer an e-mail or written warning. The societies to the ISPs Customers will not be written in the letters personally; There may indeed use. different individuals of the Internet

Sending alerts to download Britons income is part of the Voluntary Copyright Alert Program, a project in which the ISPs cooperate with societies. The latter organizations will largely fund the program and it was agreed that the four major carriers in total up to 2.5 million per year may send alerts. After three years, the system has to be evaluated, with a special emphasis. The effectiveness

The proposed system is considerably less advanced than where societies have lobbied for. They wanted people who repeatedly warned, be aware of possible legal consequences. The parties also wanted a database of offenders. The societies will of providers each month to get an overview of the number of sent warnings, but they have no direct access to customer data.

In: Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [18455 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]