Canonical announces Ubuntu Core for internet-of-things to




Canonical has announced a minimalist version of Ubuntu for smart devices. The OS works with what Canonical ‘snappy’ apps calls: read-only images of applications that are easy to update. Ubuntu Core takes only 40MB ram.

With Ubuntu Core developers can use the system libraries of Ubuntu, or which libraries of the OS they want to add too. Rolling applications, however, takes place in a different way. Developers can join for apps and publish them into a single package files, and users can download them directly. Canonical announced earlier that Ubuntu Core on cloud platforms like Microsoft Azure, Google Cloud Platform and Amazon EC2 running but now announces the company’s version of things on the Internet.

Ubuntu Core requires a processor with clock speed of 600MHz and 128MB RAM. The OS itself takes only 40MB of RAM space. In addition, devices must have 4GB of storage memory for factory resets and system rollbacks. The OS can run on x86 and ARM systems.

Ubuntu works with many partners to the OS smoothly on a variety of systems to be run. Among the partners Ninja Blocks for Ninjasphere- smart hubs; OSRF’s Robot Operating System, Openhabs SmartHub framework for Robotics and Erle Erle-Copter drone. In addition, there is cooperation for developer boards as Odroid, Beagle Bone, Banana Pro Udoo, PCDuino and Parallella and the chip designer Allwinner.

Apps run on Ubuntu Core as read-only images separated from the OS, which should promote safety and update should make it easier. Restore old versions should also go quickly and smoothly and Canonical uses fingerprints and signatures to guarantee the authenticity of the apps.

In: Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [18476 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]