“Chinese government makes encryption as in iOS 8 illegal ‘




The Chinese government wants to introduce a law that encryption that companies are not able to crack, as Apple claims to iOS 8, makes illegal. Apple can thus get into trouble with the Chinese government, reports the newspaper The New York Times.

China USA According to the new Anti-Terror Law firms must give up the keys of encryption officials to counter terrorism, writes The New York Times. In addition, information about Chinese users are merely on servers in China, companies must create methods to detect terrorist threats.

The rule is, according to the newspaper problematic for Apple because the company claims that it is not the keys of encrypted data on iPhones and iPads with iOS 8. Apple is keen to be allowed to continue selling appliances in China, because the company estimated that more than one third of its iPhones sold in that country.

In addition to Apple, there are other companies that may be obstructed with regulations such as Cisco, Qualcomm and Microsoft. Those companies are upset about the proposed new rules and insist on a “discussion” on the subject. They think that China will favor companies from their own country and protect so that they can expand their market share thanks to the measures.

Parts of the new measures were already out. There are additional strict rules for companies wishing to supply hardware to Chinese banks. For example, the Chinese government that must provide access to the source code of the software. The new measures would both be a result of the revelations of whistleblower Edward Snowden about US eavesdropping as a response to the problems that Chinese companies in the United States because the US government suspects that Chinese companies for their government spy.


In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [19073 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]