CPU load Cinnamon desktop too with update’




Developers on Tuesday released a new release of the Linux desktop environment Cinnamon. They claim that version 2.6 now, thanks to improvements, the number vigils of the CPU per second with up to 40 percent can reduce.

The Cinnamon desktop provides the look and feel of the old Gnome 2, but is based on the modern GNOME 3. The developers say they have a lot of work by studying the CPU load and improve further. They found that Cinnamon sometimes unnecessarily frequently repeated tasks, what adequate capacity of the processor appeared to require. So the menu did eventually six times less frequently refreshed to function adequately. This and more optimizations led to a decrease of about forty percent of the vigils of the CPU per second, claim the developers.

Furthermore, the developers added a shortcut to instant freezing the Linux desktop. With Ctrl + Alt + Escape would henceforth anytime the environment can be restarted. This logs the user off automatically, as is the case with the familiar Ctrl + Alt + Backspace.

The devs have also added Cinnamon support for multiple monitors. They also introduced with version 2.6 a screen saver program. Previously, the desktop environment disposal does not have a standard way to show screensavers. The program Screen Locker can now XScreenSaver and HTML5 screensavers are displayed. Also new visual effects have been added to Cinnamon and can now be controlled with the keyboard backlight energy applet.

Finally, the Nemo file manager has a new plug-in manager. With these specific operations manager for the browser can be turned on or off. Cinnamon 2.6 is expected to be delivered include first standard with the release of the popular Linux distro mint 17.2 “Rafaela. That will end this month.


In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [19102 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]