Crossplay in Sea of ​​Thieves becomes optional for Xbox One players




Crossplay in Sea of ​​Thieves will soon be restricted. Xbox One players can choose to stay in a separate player pool, which PC players can not be part of. This to strip the advantage of the computer mouse for those who want it.

The advantage that keyboard and mouse users have to controller users is, according to Joe Neate of Rare, a problem for some time now, he says in a developer update . Before the Arena extension for Sea of ​​Thieves, which is aimed at PvP , comes out, this function has to come true. He states that “if you play on an Xbox One and you use a controller, you can choose to end up in this pool”. Then you only play with and against players who also use a controller. Xbox One players who do not indicate this preference and Windows players end up in the other pool.

Xbox One games can now also support keyboard and mouse, but Sea of ​​Thieves does not do that at the moment. Fortnite on the Xbox One does that for example.

This measure may be a shame for gamers who play the Windows version of Sea of ​​Thieves, but use a controller for that. If they are excluded from this separate player pool, that is a disadvantage for them. It seems possible to add this option, since games ‘get through’ a lot more often when a player uses a controller, which can be seen in the directly changing interface.

The new option is currently being developed and tested, but according to Rare it will be built in before the Arena expansion comes into play. The expansion is focused on PvP gameplay, which makes it logical for the gamemaker to be able to handle this issue for that time and to have pitchers. When Arena comes true, it is not fixed. The studio has stated that it should come out ‘early in 2019’.


In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [23202 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]