Crucials MX100 Series SSDs Review – The new budget king?




Crucial continues its price offensive that inzette with the M500 series continues with his latest series of solid state drives. The MX100 Series solid state drives from Crucial to borrow just fine as a cheap SSD in a desktop, but the drives as compared to saving drives a fairly high idle consumption. That she might make less suitable for laptops, but the extremely low price has marginally shorter battery life than make.

Very attractively priced
Rappe SSD’s


Idle power consumption is quite high

Tweakers zegt: goed!

Crucial has with its latest generation of solid state drives is a welcome trend put: spend big ssd’s for little money on the market. The M500 was in the year after its launch, already busy with a steady decrease in prices, but the MX100 starts right at an even lower price level. For the price you do not have to leave, but the MX100 can also keep standing in terms of performance?

Crucial MX100

The specifications will not lie. Crucial is the consumer brand of Micron, which together with Intel has a flash factory. For example, Micron and Crucial flash memory so get the lowest price and the MX100 is therefore 16nm memory. Which is smaller than chips that were hitherto used in SSDs, so the cost may fall. Micron may indeed get more chips from a wafer so that the unit price decreases. These 16nm chips are controlled by a Marvell 88SS9189 controller, the same as used in its Crucial M550. Like the M550 also has the MX100 a zipper capacitors on board which any loss of power is collected in order to allow it to touch. No corrupt data long enough

We have standard ssd test protocol on the MX100 released, but we only provide the most practical results: that of traces. That be more start times, starting games and starting other applications. We also provide capabilities reabsorbed; which indicates how efficient the SSD’s are, which is especially convenient for use in laptops. The other results are of course to be found. In the bench-db

We compare the drives Crucials M500, M550 with the same controller, and with popular and low-cost competitors such as the Samsung 840 Evo.

The MX100 drives are not the fastest; that honor goes to the Evo drives from Samsung. Although dropped in price, which are, however, more than ten percent. The M550 is sometimes faster but also more expensive. That leaves about the M500, which is becoming slower and about as expensive.

We have not talked about energy. The MX100 would lend itself well as a cheap SSD in a desktop, but our test specimens showed a rather high idle consumption. May make less suitable for laptops for example Evo drives from Samsung. They would By contrast, compared with the other Crucial drives the difference is not so great. Moreover, the activity, due to the consumption during 16nm chips are quite low.
Crucial MX100 Crucial MX100

The drives are available in different capacities of 128GB, 256GB and 512GB. For larger capacities should be made to the M500 or M550 looked. This also applies to different formats, such M.2- or mSATA SSD’s; The MX100 is just like 2.5 “available -drive.
Drive 128GB 256GB 512GB
MX100 € 59.69 € 86.50 € 173, –
M500 € 58.95 € 91.05 € 185.95
M550 € 70.20 € 118.75 € 190.49

Crucial has a very affordable SSD series associated with the MX100 on the market, which may not be the fastest, but it is the cheapest. Translated into a price-performance ratio, the MX100 is an absolute must. The drives have two minuses; they are only 2.5 “drive for sale to 512GB and laptops are more economical drives for sale.
Quick review

Tweakers test every product in the same manner and with the same attention. To comply with the resources we have to do more, we choose to show. In some reviews, not all test data with our interpretation This is such a short review. All our usual tests are well done and the results are available. In the right bar via Tweakers Test Report Want to know more about how we test products? Click here .
Please also read the users reviews

Crucial 256GB MX100 Review

User Review by Small piece

42 Rating: 5

Crucial 256GB MX100 Review

User Review by zet9

3 Score: 5

More user reviews about Crucial MX100

By Willem de Moor
– Reviewer

William has worked since 2008 at Tweakers and has a penchant for science and a passion for hardware. This combination he uses when writing his insightful background articles, but is it also useful when testing the latest processors, SSDs and laptops. His information gets Willem prefer firsthand the manufacturer, even if that means he has to fly to Taiwan.
Follow William on Twitter Follow William on Google+
Read more about

Crucial MX100

from € 59.69

Solid state drives

Tweakers Test Report

Crucial MX100 256 (avg) benchmarks
212 benchmarks
Crucial MX100 512 (avg) benchmarks
211 benchmarks

Related content

20-06 News – Rumor: price war ssd’s coming
04-06 News – Crucial Introduces MX100-SSD with 16nm chips
18-03 News – Announces Crucial M550 SSD’s to-
’13-04 News – Crucial begin delivery M500 SSD’s
’13-01 News – Crucial M500 SSD’s launches

Comments (25)
Response Filter: 25 23 6 1 1
Flat View • Sort descending • Faq
July 26, 2014 08:20
Have just obtained a evo, but this is obviously a big bang for the bucks and a lot of people will be persuaded to finally get an SSD, I think, since the ratio gb / € is getting better.

[Comment edited by Alexmoorlag on July 26, 2014 08:27]
Alexmoorlag • July 26, 2014 10:04
Oh, for those two decades you have a drive that is economical in use and idle a little faster. Moreover, I find the Samsung Magician software great – normally I have nothing of OEM / Driver “utility” software, but it does have such a value. Nowadays default after installation of a PC as Magician on it, all the settings set to use the computer, then turn off Magician again so that “he will not default boot. 🙂

Did the past few weeks a lot of systems upgraded from friends / family. Always nice to see what a huge impact a SSD to the speed of the system. Turn my EVO’s been a while, but more and more people in my area steps. I think Samsung is doing great things with this drive.

For people with a Samsung SSD. Magician gives you HERE from. You can use it to:

Health Status understand
Check whether the drive is connected properly for maximum performance (AHCI mode, SATA3)
Conducting performance benchmarks
Updating the Firmware
Optimizing OS (for maximum performance, capacity and reliability)
Set on Provisioning (particularly important for the smaller SSDs)
Set various security features

edit: Magician added info

[Comment edited by MMORE on July 26, 2014 10:09]
July 26, 2014 08:27
hmmm … well actually a little bag hahaha.

just two weeks ago a 250GB Samsung drive EVO touted as games, in addition to my Samsung 830 as boot drive …. that EVO was a lot more expensive than the MX100 is 256GB.

Maarged, I have a laptop that can use an SSD 🙂 I do the EVO or in the laptop and 256GB MX100 in the desktop 🙂

nice stuff … am very happy that SSD prices are finally a bit of a reach normal levels
@ Pim0377 • July 26, 2014 08:37
You hate until you’re paid 210 euros instead +/- + / 300 when the 500 Evo came out. 8) 7
Jermak • July 26, 2014 08:58
That always keep your 😉 I paid € 80 for my time Kingston SSDNow V300 128GB, the Evo was just above my budget. Now they cost only about 55/60 euro.

But what I have most of my bag is R9 290 Tri-X, paid € 412.50 now € 290, – at Newegg : ‘(| 🙁 , It is by now again 4-5 months later: P
SkyRain • July 26, 2014 09:07
If you want the very latest, you pay the prize, unfortunately, and three months later, once again look at the price …..
SkyRain • July 26, 2014 09:25
I once again paid around 100 euros for a 32gb SSD, you look at that 😉
Styreta • July 26, 2014 09:34
An uncle of mine has paid 1,000 guilders for 1mb internal memory 8) 7
Styreta • July 26, 2014 09:56
How about 450 guilders for a 52MB HDD ..
latka • July 26, 2014 10:03
Or 3000 guilders for 9.1 GB SCSI largest disk that you could have at the time. 1-2 GB EIDE’s was what was had by all. The biggest EIDE was 4.3 IIRC.
Styreta • July 26, 2014 10:07
I have somewhere in the mid 80s of the last century, my family doctor along with two colleagues still know buying a hard drive for their joint second apple computer … 10 MB for 100,000 Belgian Frankjes (currently roughly one third of the price of a family car). Personally, I was still using 140KB floppies 8) 7
July 26, 2014 08:36
I got this also considered as a new Intel SSD Nuc (D54250WYK).
In the end it is still a Samsung 120GB Evo that had become temporarily for 55 euro on sale at
Still slightly cheaper than the MX100.
July 26, 2014 08:44
What the article touches on the side, but also unfortunately does not answer is that the MX100 has power loss protection. There is in the relevant topic much to do, so it would add a lot as it becomes clear whether it has a positive effect on the reliability of SSD. It’s what many people regard your differentiating factor compared to the EVO’s 🙂

[Comment edited by Camacha on July 26, 2014 08:45]
Camacha • July 26, 2014 09:03
I think the non-tweaker did not pay attention, “Hey that’s cheap!”
For the tweaker is indeed useful to know.
Alexmoorlag • July 26, 2014 09:20
The non-tweaker does not buy SSD.
goarilla • July 26, 2014 09:31
I disagree with you, go into a house, garden, and kitchen PC shop as dixons as they lubricate an SSD instead of a HDD … And that’s probably not the only thing.
“But sir, this is much better.”
Alexmoorlag • July 26, 2014 10:01
That’s something else hey, we tweakers is that they recommend a SSD. And someone to “Dixons” (BE) is probably a major user of consumer electronics and so even if a bit of a pseudo-tweaker.
Alexmoorlag • July 26, 2014 09:21
For non-tweaker is data integrity also very interesting – perhaps even more so, because of the lack of knowledge to solve problems themselves and the frequent absence of good backups.

The problems that can arise similar to the problems posed by the unsafe removal of a USB stick – most people are doing well, for some it creates a big problem. The difference with SSDs is that you have physically damaged the SSD and that you are not what separate files, but potentially your entire OS and all your files again. Whether you have to deal precisely with vague behavior, which is difficult to determine what the problem is and also creates problems for warranty claims.

Precisely for that reason it seems interesting upon a review deeper into them – do you find them, and how exactly are the costs in proportion to the benefits?
Camacha • July 26, 2014 09:33
That’s right, I agree with you, but how many non-tweakers would look at tweakers? 🙂
Alexmoorlag • July 26, 2014 10:23
Until one against the on / off switch comes from the socket where the PC in there, by chance someone has a short circuit at home and the power goes out or a power failure during a storm etc etc

Give me a Crucial, thank you O)
July 26, 2014 09:17
The only thing you buy, always the very latest to want, is half a year highly paid lead.
JRTB • July 26, 2014 10:07
You’re really one of the first “expertise” can build on. In a new market, this gold can mean.
jerry1985 July 26, 2014 09:33
gameguy12 July 26, 2014 10:20
July 26, 2014 10:43
Ideally such a short review. Since all these SSD’s performance by now similar in a real world desktop simulation and the technology behind the SSD is now known, I read it just only the conclusion of a normal sdd review. Now I read the entire brief review again with pleasure. Keep up the Tweakers.

Reaction ban

Dear visitor,

Tweakers limits the functionality of the site for some countries to reduce. The amount of spam, scams and other abuse of the site

Your IP address (117 201 234 229) is traced to the country code IN and that country is unfortunately in that system. Therefore, your IP address is currently barred from posting comments on Tweakers. Read for more information this explanation .

If you send us an e-mail sends , we can further explain the situation and if possible remove the blockage, or make an exception for you. Thereby send your user name, IP address and country code with it.


In: Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [15459 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »