Crytek Announces Oculus VR game ‘The Climb’ on




Crytek is developing a new game designed for virtual reality goggles. “The Climb” is a climbing game that should appear around the release of the Oculus Rift in 2016. The game is controlled through a combination of glasses and a controller.

The game is being developed by Crytek’s own Cryengine and only works with Oculus VR devices. The game allows the player rocks and climb mountains in different continents. During the climb, the player sees only two hands that he should control. For the rest, the player can fully look around for both the abyss beneath him as the remaining distance up to see him.

The control of VR goggles can proceed according to Crytek in combination with both the Xbox and the Oculus One-Touch controller. GameSpot said to have an Xbox 360 controller used during its preview. The Oculus Rift is then used to establish where the player place his hands, the controller is used in order to carry out the actions such as jumping.

The Climb

Seems based on the information available, ‘The Climb’ to be a kind of level-based virtual reality platformer. The game will include time trials and multiplayer too. According to The Verge is there no price announced for the game, partly because Crytek and Oculus still have not determined what the price for virtual reality games should be.

The minimum requirements for playing the game are identical to the requirements of the Oculus Rift. Before playing the game is at least an Intel Core i5-4590, an Nvidia GTX 970 or Radeon R9 290, and Windows 7 required. That combined with the Oculus Rift, which is expected in the first quarter of 2016.


In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [19962 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]