Deleted hosting provider accidentally all his data with short bash script?

Apr

16

2016

An owner of a small hosting provider reported that he all the company’s data, including backups, with the bash script rm -rf {foo} / {bar} was removed. He could recover the data with the help of a company for data recovery, but his story raises questions.

The company would arrange the hosting of 1535 customers. The owner, Marco Marsala, also backups took his comedy, according to him, because the script also the partitions where the backups got up, connected again. Marsala asked on Server Fault forum or mistake was to recover. He writes that he is a bash script with rm -rf {foo}/{bar} turned over Ansible. The variables undefined, would have been an error in the control code that preceded the rm command, although he does not write what that was.

The reason he performed the command, it would be because it was part of its backup process. It would have meant apparently to delete old backups. Because there was not specifically indicate what to delete, all went to the basement.

The responses to the request for help from Marsala Server Fault or action was to undo, were generally not very helpful. Many responses boiled down to that he had helped his business ruined. It is not clear which of the opinions he has succeeded. Well Marsala message that acquired a company in the arm that does to data recovery. Who would have analyzed one of the more than 1,500 server disks and managed to recover its data. According to this unnamed company, to recover all the files, writes Marsala, alias ‘bleemboy’ on the forum. He claims to be concerned with collecting the money that is needed to deal with all discs.

When the story to put his question and at least let Marsala very many details away, says Tweakers’ system Kees Hoekzema. In order to run the rm -rf command without adding –no-preserve-root, should run GNU core utilities of 2006 on the servers. Marsala claims to run CentOS 7, where that option is in anyway. Since core utils 2006 should include that option be passed to the rm command to just avoid the whole file will be destroyed at once.

There is also the Internet anywhere to find something about users complaining of the hosting company, which would be expected in the year 2016. The story is however reason to spend backing up once again in the spotlight.

rm -rf delete all files

Viewing:-108

In: Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [15171 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »