Designer first PlayStation receive Lifetime Achievement Award




Ken Kutaragi, the system architect of the first PlayStation, given in March of his colleagues, the Lifetime Achievement Award. He is the fourteenth person receiving the award. Kutaragi also designed the PS2, PS3 and PlayStation Portable.

Ken Kutaragi Be in March during the Game Developers Conference for the fourteenth year, the Game Developers Choice Awards. Thereby elect the members of the organization for game developers the best games of the past year. Each year a Lifetime Achievement Award to an individual who has meant a lot to the industry. Chosen by a jury. This year, receives Ken Kutaragi price.

The Japanese is known as the “father of the PlayStation”. He was the architect of the system console from 1994 that Sony would make. A full-fledged player in the console market Kutaragi would continue for years at Sony in service and also designed the PlayStation 2, PlayStation 3 and PlayStation Portable. He was also partly involved in the development of the PS Vita and PlayStation 4, before he retired in 2007. He was not only a technician but also a director. Until his retirement Kutaragi was director of Sony Computer Entertainment. He would be succeeded by Kaz Hirai, who was promoted in 2013 to director of the entire Sony Group.

Kutaragi was not only the system architect of the first Sony console, he was also the initiator of the project. He has worked at Sony SPC700 when he designed in secret, the audio chip of the Super Nintendo Entertainment System Nintendo. When Sony discovered the secret project Kutaragi, it took almost his job. However, it also opened the eyes of the Sony board. This initially led to a collaboration between Sony and Nintendo, who wanted to develop together. A new console When that project was spoke, Sony decided to bring to design Kutaragi. A console on the market on its own The console was immediately very successful, as the successors Kutaragi designed. With the Sony PlayStation 2 could even reach a market share of 65%.

In previous years, the prize was given to Sid Meier, John Carmack, Warren Spector and Shigeru Miyamoto. It is not the first time that a technician will win the prize. In 2003, Gunpei Yokoi, won the man behind the Nintendo Game Boy. In 2004, the price for Mark Cerny, was best known for Sonic the Hedgehog. Cerny would later take over the role of Kutaragi at Sony and was the system architect for the PlayStation 4.

In: Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [18476 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]