Developers spend first beta XBMC successor Kodi from




The XBMC Foundation has released the first beta of XBMC successor Kodi released. The open source media player software, which changes its name, includes support for playing h265 video, all this still happens without hardware acceleration.

Kodi 14.0 , which is codenamed Helix inherited contains ffmpeg 2.4. With this open source video library makes it possible to video material is compressed to play with the h265 codec. The format is inter alia to compress 4K videos and promises twice more efficient compression than h264. Ffmpeg does not yet support hardware acceleration for playback of h265 videos. The XBMC Foundation warns therefore that there is a strong cpu is needed and that many Android devices lack the processing power available in such computational tasks.

The Kodi-release would also building and scanning a library and speeding while would also be compatible with the UPnP protocol improved. Artwork can be henceforth example Kodi exchanged between clients and servers and there will be a way to search.

When managing add-ons, it is now possible to block automatic updates and to turn off update notifications. Also, there are now virtual keyboards present with other than the classic QWERTY layout. Formats

Kodi on Android would support more chipsets, including hardware acceleration for the 4k-S802 Amlogic chipset support for Freescale i.MX6-soc. AirPlay is for iOS users got working again after upgrading to iOS 7 caused any problems in XBMC. On Windows, OS X and Linux platforms, various audio bugs squashed, while the DXVA acceleration would have also improved in Windows. The Foundation changed the name because XBMC would be too much to refer to the Microsoft console.


In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [19041 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]