DJI adds real-time geofencing to drone control software




DJI has released a beta version of its new geofencing software which must be prevented users from their drones to fly in areas where it is not allowed. Users must update the firmware of their drone and update the app.

In a press release says the drone manufacturer that, even though it is a beta, anyone can use the software. DJI refers Android users to apk installer, while iOS users must submit a request to access the geofencing software. The system is called Geospatial Environment Online, or GEO, drone and gives users access to real-time information about areas where drones can not fly. The system is based on the Company’s information and must Airmap the previous, outdated no-fly system replacement.

According DJI is beta software for the Phantom 3- and 1-Inspire drones and the testing phase will not going to last very long, though the manufacturer no specific time limit. After the beta phase, it is intended that the final version of the new geofencing software is released quickly.

Because GEO information in real time offers, among others, temporary restrictions are added to the list of sites which must not be flown. This can be useful in case of forest fires or during events where many people gather. It is also possible to get an exemption from the no-fly zones; DJI can distribute these to people with verified account and in case it is a recommendation rather than a ban.

DJI will meet with GEO to concerns of authorities regarding nuisance of drones in certain areas. It is likely that there will be implemented over time in many countries, legislation to control the use of drones to tires. DJI had already announced that it will release GEO.

DJI Phantom 3


In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [20845 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]