Doom now supports Vulkan after release patch




Bethesda has let know that Monday Vulkan patch for Doom for PC is available. The low-level Vulkan-api to achieve its higher frame rates than the OpenGL API. After getting the patch via Steam users with the right hardware choice whether they want to use OpenGL or Vulkan.

This is afterwards to change the game via “Settings”, “Advanced” and then “Graphics API. That id Software Vulkan support would add to Doom, had been known for some time. Nvidia used images from the game at a resolution of 1920 by 1080 pixels with ultra-settings during a presentation of its new GeForce GTX 1080 graphics card. At the launch shows that get the game frame rates up to 200fps.

In a blog on writes Robert Duffy, CTO of id Software, this’ post-release is a major push for the technology. The question ‘what is useful for a gamer? came in response to id Software ‘higher frame rates.

Support Vulkan is useful not only for the latest generation of graphics cards from Nvidia or AMD, but also for older GPUs think id, all depends on it of the driver support from manufacturers which maps all eventually will be able to handle Vulkan.

According to the FAQ Bethesda, users with minimal system with Vulkan can achieve higher frame rates. Owners of high-end systems would be of “exceptional content performance ‘can enjoy.

Warns the publisher for possible crashes and incompatible systems, as Vulkan does not work with Nvidia GPUs with 2GB RAM on Windows 7, and not with an Nvidia GTX 690. In conjunction with AMD GPUs crashes the game when making a screenshot from the Steam overlay and users of AMD R9 Fury X and R9 390X can get Windows 10 suffer from frame rates below 60fps. Disable vertical sync should solve the problem temporarily until there is a fix.


In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [22086 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]