Ever Spin launches first MRAM SSD’s




Ever Spin has announced its first SSD line-based MRAM. In fact, it accelerators for storage since the PCIe storage devices quantities only offer one and two gigabyte. MRAM has to combine the advantages of DRAMs and that of nand.

MRAM, or magnetoresistive memory, stores data by making use of the spin of electrons. Storage takes place magnetically and not electrically, and, therefore, it comes to rapidly non-volatile memory without degradation. MRAM must combine the durability of magnetic storage with the speed of DRAM or SRAM, but a great obstacle is up to now the storage density. Ever Spin yet yielded discrete MRAM components include embedded systems and storage density was taking up to 256Mbit per with a DDR3 interface.

Ever Spin Announces now first-line nvme SSDs with PCIe 3.0 x8 interface. The manufacturer uses for the nvNitro line-32 or 64-MRAM chips in order to achieve a storage capacity of 1GB 2GB respectively. The memory operates at 4kB read 1.5 million IOPS with a latency of 6 microseconds. AnandTech puts the number of IOPS compared to the 1.2 million IOPS for HGST Ultrastar SN260 -ssd while the latency favorably compared to the 20 microsecond of the Intel SSD DC P3700 .

The speeds according to the manufacturer be useful in applications such as high frequency trading, database and file system acceleration, and caching of metadata. Thus, the company focuses on the same market as Intel with its Optane storage . Ever Spin will later this year SSDs from 4 to 16GB DDR4-based MRAM. In addition, there must appear compact variants on the basis of the M2 and u2-form factor. The first nvNitro products should appear in the second quarter of this year. Currently customers Ever Spin testing the SSD’s yet


In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [21515 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]