First systems developed in Russia Elbrus CPUs go on sale




The Russian firm MCST has started selling PCs and servers equipped with ARM Elbrus 4c processors, CPUs in Russia are designed. Meanwhile, is already working on successors of the Elbrus 4c CPUs.

The 65nm Elbrus 4c, who last year came on the market, contain four cores each running at 800MHz. According to the manufacturer is the power 50 gigaflops. The processor supports a proprietary instruction set based on SPARC and called very long instruction word instructions. Besides x86 emulation processor can also run custom versions of Linux based on Debian and Linux 2.6 kernel. In addition, the processor according to The Register powerful enough to create playable example Doom 3.

MCST has announced two systems in which the Elbrus 4c included: the Elbrus ARM-401 PC and Server 4.4 Elbrus . The PC version, a mini tower offers four USB 2.0 ports, a PCI-Express slot and Gigabit Ethernet. As operating system is chosen for a Linux version that also answers to the name Elbrus. Elbrus Server 4.4 offers four Elbrus 4c processors. Four passes of these server boards in a 1U chassis. This system has gigabit ethernet and a number of SATA and PCI-E connectors.

Elbrus ARM-401 PCElbrus ARM-401 PC
The market for the Elbrus 4c seems to be limited for the time being to Russia. Thus, the Russian government announced it would trade for fear of espionage Intel and AMD CPUs for ARM chips of his own making. Meanwhile, is already working on a successor to the Elbrus 4c: Elbrus 8c, which is made according to a 28nm process, must get eight cores running at 1.3GHz. This processor has this year come on the market.



In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [19137 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]