Gigabyte and Palit reveal GTX 1060 video cards with gddr5x




Gigabyte and Palit have put versions of the GeForce GTX 1060 with 6GB gddr5x on their site. The Palit card has a memory clock speed of 8.8 Gbit / s, which is less than the so-called 9 Gbit / s versions of the GTX 1060.

The map of Palit is the GeForce GTX 1060 GamingPro OC + and the only change compared to the 1060 GamingPro OC seems to be the use of gddr5x instead of gddr5. That gddr5x memory is clocked at 8.8 Gbit / s, according to the specifications, which leads to a total memory bandwidth of 211GB / s. With the regular GamingPro OC, the gddr5 memory runs at 8Gbit / s, for a bandwidth of 192GB / s. Since last year, however, there are also the so-called 9Gbit / s versions of the GTX 1060. With these cards the gddr5 memory is at 9Gbit / s.

It is still unclear on which GPU the GeForce GTX 1060 with gddr5x is based. The rumor has been circulating for years that it is the GP104 of the GTX 1080, with parts of the chip turned off. Gigabyte has now also put its GeForce GTX 1060 G1 Gaming D5X online. A week and a half ago the message that Gigabyte would come with this card was published, after which Nvidia confirmed that by putting the specification on its site.

Gddr5x is the successor to gddr5 with the necessary elongation to increase the bandwidth, while maintaining the form factor so that manufacturers can relatively easily release variants of existing video cards with the memory. The type of memory would increasingly be used for the mainstream and eventually the low-end, for example Micron expects . For high-end cards there is gddr6 and high bandwith memory.

Nvidia GTX 1060 gddr5x Gigabyte Palit


In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [23268 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]