Google Drive lets users better protect files




Google Drive will allow you to transfer files to be locked so that users who have access to a file can not save, print or copy. This should benefit the confidentiality of data.

The setting is meant for sensitive files, where a Google Drive user wants to give others access to it, but he wants to prevent data leakage. In that case Drive users will soon enable the option to download, print and copy a file to disable people with whom it is shared. They can then only recognize the document and possibly edited.

The new functionality will be rolled out within a few days, although it may in the case of Google Apps users take a few days before the update is here. Google Apps administrators can choose either a slower rollout of new features. Moreover, the functionality can obviously not prevent users from taking screenshots or copying data by hand.


In: Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [15502 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »