Google Drive: Support for Windows XP, Vista, and Server 2003 ends




google_drive_logo_rec Google will provide support for its desktop app for Google Drive from January 1, 2017 on multiple operating systems. Specifically, it is the very old Windows XP, Vista and Server 2003, which are soon under the table. As a reason, Google then implies that even Microsoft even supports those platforms no longer. Nevertheless, the latest versions of the program will, of course, continue to perform under the mentioned systems. However, there will be no updates or improvements. Newer versions of the desktop app are no longer tested / optimized for the old Microsoft operating systems.

Google advises users who are still using Windows XP, Vista or Server 2003, to change to a newer operating system. Strictly speaking, Google’s statements are not 100% correct. Although Windows Vista will not receive mainstream support, it will remain in Extended Support until April 11, 2017. However, you have to take it very precisely to keep the Google active: In Extended Support, Windows Vista only receives important security updates. In addition, the market share of Vista is currently about 1% among the Windows versions. Really popular was Windows Vista with the customers anyway never so correctly. Instead, many of the OS’s were launched at Windows XP. It was only Windows 7 developed for Microsoft then again to a permanent burner.

Thus, support for Google Drive on Windows 7 is of course, just like under Windows 10 , obtain. Only if you use Windows XP, Vista or Server 2003, you should look around for an alternative for your system.


In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [22121 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]