Google requires manufacturers to show battery statistics in Android 6.0




Google has expressed his document compatibility for Android 6.0 Marshmallow fact that Android manufacturers have to make clear the extent to which different parts of the smartphone use the battery. The same applies to installed applications.

The obligations are set out in section 8.4 of the so-called Compatibility Definition Document which was released by Google, so message Android Police. It describes where manufacturers have to meet if they use Android 6.0, while wanting to be certified by Google. For example, it should be clear, inter alia, how much each individual piece of hardware makes use of the battery. This example, users can see how much battery capacity is consumed by the display.

At the same time must also be clear which apps use the battery capacity. Thus, users thus better understand which apps require a lot of battery life and faster clear which app is causing problems in cases of battery drain.

Although the vast majority of Android devices already show battery statistics in the settings screen, not all data is always available. This has among other things resulted in a rise in alternative applications for battery stats, but there is in many cases root access is required to be able to see the full set of data.

Previously proved already that Google Android 6.0 is required by some devices to implement full-disk encryption. This form of security must be present on devices that support full disk encryption and AES encryption operation 50MiB / s or higher. Google had earlier attempted to enter disk encryption, but came back to that later.



In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [21411 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]