Google’s update to give guarantees Nexus devices’




Google would for smartphones and tablets in the Nexus series a hard update warranty like to give: get up to two years after release devices while system updates security updates for three years after release are guaranteed. Possibly following the official announcement during the I / O conference.

The rumor is coming from Android Police, who relies on reliable sources. The site is known to have sources inside Google. According to sources, Google will provide updates guarantees for buyers of Android devices, so clearly if there is support. System updates need to two years after the release of the conscious device to be released, while for security updates to three years after release. This applies only to Google’s own Nexus series. Or other manufacturers to join here is unknown.

Google also guarantees according to Android Police users to eighteen months after purchasing the smartphone or tablet from the Play Store still follow security updates. The longest term is decisive for security updates: it may be just the three years after its official release, or even eighteen months after the purchase.

According to Android Police is still not entirely clear when the new update policy takes effect. Possibly it will be announced at I / O, Google’s developer conference, which reportedly also presented a new Android version. Whether the update warranty applies retroactively to existing devices is not yet clear.

Google came out earlier with a similar initiative. The company said Android devices at least 18 months of updates should be provided, both Nexus devices like Android phones from ‘partners’. However, it was not firm commitments, which for many users is not clear whether they will still receive updates to their device.


In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [19137 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]