HPE involves open source developers with new computer architecture




Hewlett Packard Enterprise has released a set of tools for open source developers to involve them at an early stage at The Machine. This is UHP’s test platform for a new computer architecture, focusing on the next generation of memory.

With the tools, developers can include contributions to changes in Linux to work better this OS run on The Machine and to create applications that demonstrate the benefits of the new computer architecture, writes HPE. The company is referring in particular to memory-driven computing. HPE wants to make large amounts namely use in the Machine memory is a combination of working and storage memory.

The company makes four tools available. It is a new database engine to a large number of CPU cores and non-volatile memory and can use a programming model which multithreaded code adapts for use in persistent memory. In addition, HPE has an environment released that emulates the architecture of The Machine. Finally, there is a platform based on dram that the latency and bandwidth of future byte-addressable nvm technology emulates. HPE promises to release more tools in the coming months and improve existing code. At the end of the year HPE The Machine will for the first time publicly demonstrated, with code that bring developers, will run on the system.

HP made ​​in 2014 is known to work on the new computer architecture. The company takes new technology as the basis of the system, such as memristors, resistors with memory, and optical interconnects for high-speed data communication. HP estimated at the time that the system could appear as early as 2017, but it would only be around 2020.


In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [22025 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]