Instagram Is Testing A New Feature For Sharing Photos

Jun

25

2017

Instagram Is Testing A New Feature For Sharing Photos With A Limited Group Of Close Friends

Image and Video Sharing Service Instagram began testing a new way to share publications with a limited group of friends, in an effort to encourage participation among its more than 700 million active users per month.

With the “Favorites” feature, Instagram, owned by Facebook, is trying to improve the profile of friends, encouraging users to publish more by giving them greater control over their audience.

He believes that if the new feature is launched on a large scale, it can convert Instagram into the virtual place of participation for more groups of friends, as well as reshaping the social dynamics of Instagram.

Before Instagram developed the “favorite” feature, users tried to develop it by themselves, creating what is known as Finstagrams, private instagram accounts followed only by a small group of close friends. Or they publish images to the public and then delete them after they make sure that the close friends intended to see them by admiring them.

However, such an approach suffered from some disadvantages, due to social pressures, as private account holders from users were using Instagram at a low pace, according to the company. “People are trying to penetrate Instagram to create smaller audiences, and we’re trying to figure it out,” says Robbie Stein, product leader at Instagram.

To solve this problem, Instagram is a “favorite” feature, a list of very close friends with the ability to edit it at any time. The company began testing the feature among a small percentage of users starting on Friday, according to the technology website The Verge, with a focus on offering it more widely in the coming months.

The user will see when he or she shares a new post or story to share with the Favorites list, and the publication will only appear to friends on the list who will see the “Favorites” badge. This will get a user profile on a new Favorites tab, which includes all non-temporary publications that have been shared with close friends.

The site added that friends will not be alerted if the user added or removed from the list of favorites. They will know this when they see the green Favorites badge on top of the posts they share with them. If the user removes one from the list, they will not be able to access the private images. If they go to the Favorites tab in the profile, they’ll find it blank.

There is no limit to the number of friends who can be added to favorites, but Instagram expects users to add between 10 and 30 friends. Through this feature, the company aims to “strengthen relationships through participatory experiences,” according to Stein.

Viewing:-209

In: News & Events Asked By: [17511 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »