Intel Announces Atom C3000 socs for IOT and network devices




Intel announces a new series of energy-efficient Atom socs for use in the Internet of Things devices and network equipment. The C3000-socs appear in versions with two to sixteen cores and a TDP from 8.5 watts.

Intel Atom Clock speeds range from 1.5GHz to 2.2GHz. The socs support ecc memory and up to four ten Gigabit Ethernet connections. They can control up to sixteen SATA600 interfaces, feature up-sixteen PCIe 3.0 lanes and four USB 3.0 interfaces.

Intel announced that the Atom C3000 models go into production mid-year. In the first half of 2017, Intel will start with sending samples to manufacturers who want to use the socs. Details on the various models by the manufacturer yet. However, there is one model already described in Intel’s Ark website: Atom C3338. This is a dual core with Denverton cores made on the 14nm process. The clock speed is 1.5GHz with a turbo of 2.2GHz. The SOC has 4MB cache and a TDP of 9 watts.

The Atom C3000 socs follow the C2000 models, which were introduced in 2013. Socs which had up to eight cores. The Atom socs used by network equipment manufacturers such as Nassen, routers and security hardware. According to Intel, the socs also suitable for use in autonomous driving cars.

Intel also comes with new models in the Xeon D-1500 Series, specifically for use in networking equipment. These socs get support for four ten Gigabit Ethernet connections. The network series of Xeon D-socs going to like the new Atoms in the second half of the year in production. Intel will announce more details about the socs when they are in production.


In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [19980 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]