Jolla brings first version Sailfish OS for Nexus 4 from




Jolla has a first version of its OS Sailfish put online for the Nexus 4, the smartphone that LG and Google released in 2012. Sailfish can be as custom ROM CyanogenMod flashed on top, but still too buggy for daily use, the company says.

Users who want to install Sailfish must first restore their device to the stock version of Android 4.2.2, then install CyanogenMod 10.1.3 and then a zip file with Sailfish OS over it flashing, appears from the manual that Jolla has put online.

The firmware is still not ready for daily use: if audio does not work in phone calls, sensors are not yet active, working bluetooth and USB connection is not, the users can not Jolla Store and the software does not update without re- to flash.

Jolla wants to create custom ROMs for various Android devices, users of current devices provide the opportunity to try without them the Sailfish Jolla smartphone need to purchase. In addition to the custom ROM comes a launcher, which in any case emulates the interface of Sailfish OS on the current firmware of Android devices. Although Jolla mentioned earlier Android hardware from many brands, listed in the table above current Nexus devices and a 4G version of the Samsung Galaxy S III.

Jolla spent his smartphone in November last year for the first time and the unit can also be ordered. Since december in the Netherlands Sailfish OS is an operating system with a Linux kernel and is based on MeeGo Nokia. The controller works with sweeping movements. The Jolla smartphone can run Android apps and provides standard Jolla Yandex.Store along for finding Android apps.

In: Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [18460 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]