Knights Landing Intel Xeon Phi CPU gets 60 cores




Intel has released more details about the upcoming Knights Landing Xeon Phi processor. The server CPU becomes available at least sixty cores and more than eight billion transistors. Under Linux can handle the CPU 240 threads simultaneously.

The Knights Landing version of Xeon Phi CPU is one of the largest chips that Intel has ever baked: according to the website The Platform is the surface which is about as big as a credit card. The sixty cores in the processor based on a modified Silvermont Atom chip design. Intel has however called TSX transactional memory -feature be disabled because there is an error in the Xeon E5 2600 cpu discovered in this mechanism. Intel makes the first sixty cores communicate with so-called near-memory. In a test setup was 16GB to see this extra fast mcdram RAM. This type of memory was developed by Intel together with Micron Technology and could achieve speeds up to 400GB / s. Further, the chip design contains six lanes to communicate with regular DDR4-memory, named by Intel far memory. Knights Landing can handle up to 384GB far memory at a rate of 90GB / s. Furthermore, the draft 36 PCI-E 3.0 lanes.

The chip manufacturer would not confirm rumors that the Knights Landing chip design can contain up to 72 cores, partly because the yields of the complex 14nm chips may be too low and therefore some cores should be disabled. Intel also mentions no clock speeds. However, the company gives an indication of the performance: Knights Landing CPU would be more than 3 teraflops deliver with floating point calculations. In addition, Intel also would release a version of the CPU that can serve as a co-processor, and a version that features Omni Path interfaces that are good for 100GB / s.

In: Uncategorized Asked By: [18454 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]