Kobo comes with square e-reader with 8 “screen for 280 euros




Kobo announces the Forma, an e-reader with a square design that will be released on October 23rd. The e-reader is waterproof and has an 8 “screen with ComfortLight Pro lighting, whose color temperature can be adjusted.

The Kobo Forma gets an ipx8 rating and according to the manufacturer can be used in water for two hours at a depth of two meters. The 8 “screen is of the E Ink Carta type and has a resolution of 1440×1920 pixels The aspect ratio of 4: 3 is similar to other e-readers, but the design of the device is squarer by the wide edge on one side In that spot Kobo puts physical buttons to browse.

There is 8GB storage space available and the Kobo Forma has dimensions of 160×177,7×8,5mm. At the thinnest point the e-reader is 4.2mm thin and it weighs 197 grams. ComfortLight Pro lighting has already been used by Kobo on other e-readers, such as the Aura H2O Edition 2 and the Clara HD . This system consists of LEDs that can change color, giving rest to the eyes by using a warmer color temperature in the evening.

According to Kobo, the square design is ergonomic and the Forma is easy to use with one hand. Kobo says to have used a flexible layer of plastic in the screen, which would ensure that the e-reader is thin and light. Also the e-reader according to the manufacturer is firm, he could endure a fall more than two meters.

The e-reader can handle fourteen file formats, including epub, pdf, mobi, jpg, txt, html and png. The Kobo Forma is equipped with WiFi and has a micro-USB connection, which is also used to charge the 1200mAh battery. The Kobo Forma is for sale from 23 October. Orders can be placed from October 16th.


In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [23646 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]