Microsoft has released a patch for the vulnerability of Windows, which existed 19 years




Microsoft released an emergency security update that closes a serious vulnerability that existed in operating systems since the days of Windows 95. The error programmers company in 1995, is present in all current versions of the desktop platform Microsoft.


The vulnerability is related to the implementation of encryption protocols to transfer data over the Internet. It was discovered in the Secure Channel – security package, which uses the SSL and TLS, providing a secure connection between a client and a server. Schannel, in particular, uses the Internet Explorer.

Mistake became known informally as WinShock, the first team found IBM. She reported on her Microsoft in May, and a patch was released only now. According to the researchers, the vulnerability has existed since the days of Windows 95, if not earlier. She could use the hackers for nearly 20 years, remotely run malicious code.

“The vulnerability can be exploited by hackers to carry out attacks hidden – through remote code execution they seize control of the user’s PC,” – wrote in a blog one of the researchers Robert Freeman.

Evidence that IBM found the vulnerability is exploited, it is not revealed, but it is rated at 9.7 points out of 10.

Only package includes 14 bug fixes, including four with the status of “critical”. Install updates is recommended for all use of Windows, including Windows 8.1, Windows 7, Windows Vista and server operating systems. Vulnerable will only have Windows XP, whose support has been discontinued in the spring of 2014.

Join us at Twitter , VKontakte , Facebook , Google+ or via RSS , to keep abreast of the latest news from the world of Apple, Microsoft and Google.


In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [20336 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]