Microsoft is ending mainstream support period for Windows 7




Microsoft Tuesday mainstream support period ended for Windows 7. The OS is now entering the phase of extended support which runs until January 14, 2020. Windows 7 users now have to pay for specific support and there are no new features for the OS.

The close of the mainstream support period for Windows 7 Starter, Home Premium, Ultimate, Professional and Enterprise means that Microsoft in future updates to the operating system does not introduce new features; in the extended support phase, which runs for five years, Microsoft will only release security updates are for Windows 7.

Not only stop Microsoft with the release of new features for Windows 7, but also need the OS users now also going to pay for some support, which includes specific hotfixes organizations for leaks that can not be closed through the regular security updates. Microsoft will support Windows 7 on January 14, 2020 cease entirely.

The OS is currently used more widely, partly because the operating system’s popularity within the industry and the influx of former XP users. Many users say this version of Windows, which offers released in October 2009 after the ‘Vista debacle, “to appreciate the fact that Windows 7 no new ModernUI- or Metro interface.

Windows 7 is officially consumers no longer for sale, both new PC as loose, but it is still possible for computers running Windows 8 is preinstalled to request a downgrade to Windows 7.

Microsoft cease from Tuesday also supports Virtual Server 2005, Systems Management Server 2003, Host Integration Server 2004, Visual FoxPro 9.0 and Windows CE 5.0. The next version of Windows will be sent into retirement, Windows Vista, this gets on April 11, 2017 the stamp end-of-life.


In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [22025 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]