Microsoft requires Windows 10 to support new generation of processors




Microsoft is making changes in its update policy. For new generations of processors must provide customers with the latest Windows versions are provided at the time of release. The new policy applies, for Intel Skylake which Windows 10 will be required.

The new update policy was set put on the blog of Microsoft. For older generations of hardware, nothing changes: Windows 7 will be supported until January 14, 2020, while Windows 8.1 updates will be provided until 10 January 2023. The new rules do apply to the sixth-generation Intel processors and all future series. These include among others, in the Skylake-procesors. For AMD involves processors in the Bristol Ridge series. Systems based on these processors should therefore Windows 10 are provided for support by Microsoft.

However it is still possible for some systems with new hardware to provide older Windows versions with support from Microsoft. The company will release a list of systems, said devices until July 17, 2017 updates will be provided without Windows 10 is required. Then users must still install Windows 10 to get updates. This transitional period is intended primarily for business customers.

Probably want to choose Microsoft there with the new update policy to ensure that consumers and businesses buying new hardware directly for the latest Windows version. Especially companies regularly install earlier versions of Windows on their systems. However, Microsoft hopes that as many users upgrade to Windows 10, and for this reason upgrade from Windows 7 or 8.1 is now free.


In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [21020 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]