Microsoft starts selling HoloLens-devkit in some European countries




Microsoft has started selling the HoloLens in some European countries. The augmentedrealitybril can be ordered including Germany for 3299 euros and comes in November. It is a version for developers.

In March appeared the ontwikkelaarskit already in the United States for $ 3,000; now the HoloLens can be ordered in Germany, France, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Microsoft provides the HoloLens for Euro 3299, but there is also a Commercial Suite version available for 5489 euros.

The Enterprise Edition offers enterprise features such as a kiosk mode, which makes it possible to restrict which apps can be run on the augmentedrealitybril. According to Microsoft, this version also more security and management options, and buyers get warranty. Microsoft does not guarantee the regular edition. It may, because it is a version for developers, not regular sales to consumers. Buyers must agree to purchase with that condition.

The HoloLens is a custom holographic processing unit with 24 cores, combined with 8MB of SRAM to process the input from the cameras and sensors. For running apps are an Intel Atom Cherry Trail-soc and 1GB of RAM available.

When HoloLens or similar device actually reaches the market for consumers is not yet clear. In June suggested Microsoft Windows Holographic platform open to manufacturers. At the time, the software maker said that several manufacturers are working on HoloLens equipment. It would go on to include HTC, Acer, Asus, Dell, HP, Lenovo and MSI. Those manufacturers, however, have not announced any concrete plans.


In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [20058 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]