Microsoft: you can manually update Windows as a test user




In an explanation of monthly Windows updates, Microsoft announces that whoever searches for updates manually in the last two weeks of the month can get a preview version for testing purposes.

Microsoft uses different types of Windows updates to improve quality and security, explains Michael Fortin, vice president of Windows at Microsoft. The B-releases are known, of which the ‘B’ refers to the second week of the month. These are the updates that mainly consist of security patches and which also appear on the Tuesday known as patch tuesday, or update tuesday .

But there are also C and D releases according to Fortin, which therefore appear in the third and fourth week of the month respectively. “These are preview releases, especially intended for commercial users and advanced users who ‘search’ for updates,” says the vice president, explaining that this search consists of having “Check for updates” with Windows Update. “The purpose of these releases is to test the non-security updates that are part of the subsequent Tuesday updates,” he continues.

Microsoft has the Insider program for testing Windows, which users must explicitly sign up for. However, this is primarily intended for testing upcoming Windows versions with corresponding new features. Few average users will at least know that they are likely to become test users by manually checking for updates. In addition, Microsoft also does not report this with Windows Update. To what extent the C and D updates have not already been tested by Insiders, for example, is not known.

Fortin also announces that Microsoft updates more than a billion devices monthly with software from Windows XP to Windows 10, based on paid contracts. During peak times, it involves a thousand devices per second.


In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [23202 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]