Municipalities should have the end of 2017 tls and dnssec to stand on mail servers




Dutch municipalities have implemented end of 2017 tls and dnssec on their mail servers. Writes Interior Minister Ronald Plasterk in response to parliamentary questions on poorly protected email municipalities.

Municipalities have already upon activation of a new server has built-in security measures according to the letter from the minister. Standards such as TLS and dnssec stand on the ‘apply-or-explain’ list. Everything on this list is , is obliged to purchase, purchasing, procurement or development of a new service.

Research by the magazine Internal Administration appeared in early June that Dutch municipalities bad secure their email. When it appeared that using only three of the fifty municipalities investigated standards like DKIM and SPF. Only the Hague, ‘s-Hertogenbosch and Woerden met the standards.

With dkim can verify that a message should indeed be sent from the field. Spf looks or the servers of the domain were allowed to send messages. With DMARC can be checked or content of an e-mail is subject to change. This last security method is not yet on the apply-or-explain ‘list, but is a candidate for inclusion. This also applies to starttls in combination with Dane. Perhaps this year they are even put on the list.

Without standards, it is for example possible for attackers to impersonate a church because they can send mail on behalf of a municipality.

In the letter the Minister shares the message the opinion of Internal Affairs, that “Municipal email embarrassing poorly protected,” no. This is because the “order of implementation of measures is based on a local risk assessment where the College of B & W is responsible.”


In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [23266 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]