NASA is looking back with Kepler satellite for exoplanets




The Kepler space telescope is searching for exoplanets after recently approved a new mission again. Tests show that the satellite, is able to look stable, after damage had been previously found. To a part of the universe

Kepler Space Telescope That says NASA launched the mission K2, which Kepler a new lease of life. After a series of tests Kepler focuses again on parts of the universe in order to discover exoplanets. Individual emissions take about eighty days, after which the orientation of Kepler has to be changed.

Kepler became irreparably damaged last year when a second four gyroscopic flywheels total broke. These flywheels ensure that the satellite could keep his balance. NASA failed not to successfully carry out repairs. Therefore, a new plan was devised in order to be able to maintain the balance. Kepler is now positioned so that the photons from the sun hit the surface at an edge where two panels meet. The pressure is thus evenly distributed over the surface of Kepler. As a result, the remaining two functional fly wheels enough to keep balance.

In recent weeks, NASA tested the trick to keep in practice Kepler stable works. That turned out to be making the K2 mission now officially launched the case. The plans for the K2-mission have already been approved , so the funding for two years around.

Kepler in 2009 launched and placed in orbit around the sun. Until now, Kepler has contributed to the discovery of 962 exoplanets, and the next time there are expected to arrive at new planets. Also, there is still a lot of data that has not been analyzed before Kepler was damaged. It is therefore expected that many exoplanets are found. In the future

In: Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [18460 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]